Too and Enough

Form

too + adjective or adverb
too much/many + noun
too much/many + of + pronoun/determiner

Too + adjective + infinitive

Alex couldn’t play basketball because he was too short.
Alex was too short to play basketball.
We are too tired to go to the gym.
Mary was too ill to finish her food.

Too + adjective + for (someone) + infinitive

I can’t walk to Valparaiso because it is too far.
Valparaiso is too far for me to walk.
It is too late for me to go out.
The soup is too cold for Tim to eat.
The price of the ticket is too expensive for Mike to fly to Europe.

adjective or adverb + enough
enough + noun
enough + of + pronoun/determiner

Enough + noun

Enough (pronounced “enuf”)
There was sufficient food for everybody at the party.
There was enough food for everybody at the party.
I had enough money to pay for dinner with my girlfriend.
Is there enough time to finish the test?

Adjective + Enough

Everybody notices her because she is very pretty.
She is pretty enough for everybody to notice her.
My friend lives close enough to my house to walk.
Last summer it was hot enough to go swimming every day.

Enough + infinitive

When she lost her dog, it was enough to make her cry.
He was sick enough to stay home from work today.
I arrived at the airport early enough to make my flight to New York.

Meaning
1. We use too to mean more than sufficient or more/less than necessary.
It’s too late to stop him.
Jerry was too young to watch the movie.
There are too many people on this train, there’s nowhere to sit.
You have too much money, give some to me.
You’ve eaten too many of those cakes.

2. We use enough to mean sufficient.
Your clothes are big enough to fit me.
You’ve done enough work. You can stop now.
Have you got enough money to buy me a drink?

3. We use enough in negative sentences to mean less than sufficient or less than necessary.
You’re not working fast enough, you won’t finish on time.
Sorry, I haven’t got enough food for everyone.
Not enough of my friends are coming to the party.

Additional points
1. We can use enough without a noun if the meaning is clear.
There’s a lot of food but not enough for everyone.

2. We can replace enough with the before a noun.
I don’t have the money to go on holiday.
His company doesn’t have the resources to do the job.

3. We can use time or room alone to mean enough time or enough room.
Is there room in your car for one more person?
Do we have time for a coffee?

http://www.grammar.cl/Intermediate/Very_Too_Enough.htm

Leave a Reply

