Past Perfect Exercise

Complete with the past perfect.

1. After Pasteur (to discover) vaccine against rabies, he used it on people.
2. Before the plane took off, the authorities (to check) the passengers ‘passports.
3. After she (to buy) a present, she offered it to me.
4. She went sleeping, after she (to wash) dishes
5. After I (to meet) my friend, we went to school.
6. After I (to break) a vase, I bought a new one.
7. He chose a book before he (to enter) the shop.
8. After he (to get) the diploma, he started to work.
9. Before she went to the university, she (to succeed) her exam.
10. After John (to visit) the zoo, he went to the theatre.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/exercises/exercise-english-2/exercise-english-10917.php

1. After Pasteur had discovered (to discover) vaccine against rabies, he used it on people.
2. Before the plane took off, the authorities had checked(to check) the passengers ‘passports.
3. After she had bought. (to buy) a present, she offered it to me.
4. She went sleeping, after she had washed(to wash) dishes
5. After I had met(to meet) my friend, we went to school.
6. After I had broken(to break) a vase, I bought a new one.
7. He chose a book before he had entered(to enter) the shop.
8. After he had got(to get) the diploma, he started to work.
9. Before she went to the university, she had succeeded(to succeed) her exam.
10. After John had visited(to visit) the zoo, he went to the theatre.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/cgi2/myexam/voir2r.php?id=10917

Complete with the past perfect.

1. We (see) her before
2. He (not /phone) us before.
3. We (never /meet) them before.
4. I didn’t know he (work) for them.
5. He (say) it so many times that we didn’t pay attention.
6. I must admit he (tell) us in advance.
7. When we arrived, the train (already leave).
8. We wanted to help, but he (already /do) it.
9. She was tired, because she (be) shopping the whole afternoon.
10. The garage was locked, and I’m sure he (do) it on purpose.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/exercises/exercise-english-2/exercise-english-15566.php

1. We had seen (see) her before
2. He had not phoned (not /phone) us before.
3. We had never met (never /meet) them before.
4. I didn’t know he had worked (work) for them.
5. He had said (say) it so many times that we didn’t pay attention.
6. I must admit he had told (tell) us in advance.
7. When we arrived, the train had already left(already leave).
8. We wanted to help, but he had already done (already /do) it.
9. She was tired, because she had been (be) shopping the whole afternoon.
10. The garage was locked, and I’m sure he had done (do) it on purpose.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/cgi2/myexam/voir2r.php?id=15566

Complete the sentences with the right tenses, past simple and past perfect.

1. After we (eat) at the cafeteria, we (go) to the zoo.
2. Pat (watch) TV after she (finish) her homework.
3. When I arrived to the car park, I (find out) that my car (disappear)
4.The children were amazed because they (see/never) a bear before.
5. By the time the film (end) Sonia (eat) a lot of popcorn.
6. We (have) the car for ten years before it (break) down.
7. She (understand) the film she saw yesterday because she (read) the book.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/exercises/exercise-english-2/exercise-english-48239.php

1. After we (eat) had eaten at the cafeteria,
we (go)went to the zoo.

2. Pat (watch)watched TV
after she (finish)had finished her homework.

3. When I arrived to the car park, I (find out) found out
that my car (disappear)had disappeared

4.The children were amazed because they (see/never)had never seen a bear before.

5. By the time the film (end) ended
Sonia (eat) had eaten a lot of popcorn.

6. We (have)had had the car for ten years
before it (break) broke down.

7. She (understand) understood the film she saw yesterday
because she (read) had read the book.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/cgi2/myexam/voir2r.php?id=48239

Complete the sentences.

1. It was the third time that I (explain) that lesson.
2. I (study) a little English before I moved to the U.K.
3. I went to sleep when my friends (leave).
4. The passengers went out for safety because the bus (catch) fire.
5. Laure (do) all her work before her daughter came to help her.
6. After Paul (eat) his dinner , he went to bed.
7. I would have told you if you (tell) me about it.
8. A young couple (divorce) because of child-bearing.
9. If only Senegal (win) the African championship of basket-ball !
10. It was the first time I (see) your brother.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/exercises/exercise-english-2/exercise-english-52390.php

1. It was the third time that I had explained (explain) that lesson.
2. I had studied (study) a little English before I moved to the U.K.
3. I went to sleep when my friends had left (leave).
4. The passengers went out for safety because the bus had caught (catch) fire.
5. Laure had done (do) all her work before her daughter came to help her.
6. After Paul had eaten (eat) his dinner , he went to bed.
7. I would have told you if you had told (tell) me about it.
8. A young couple had divorced (divorce) because of child-bearing.
9. If only Senegal had won (win) the African championship of basket-ball !
10. It was the first time I had seen (see) your brother.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/cgi2/myexam/voir2r.php?id=52390

Complete the sentences.

1. (you/ever/ to visit) South Africa before your trip in 2002?
2. He (never/to see) a lion before he travelled to South Africa.
3. I (to fail) many times before I obtained my driving licence.
4. He (to be) in Italy once before.
5. They (to have) that land for many years before they sold it.
6. (you/ to study) English before you moved to England?
7. I (to receive) another warning before this one.
8. I (to try) many cars before I chose the blue one.
9. He (never to swim) in such a beautiful sea before he went to Spain.
10. He (to travel) to Australia many times before he based his company there.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/exercises/exercise-english-2/exercise-english-56199.php

1. Had you ever visited(you/ever/ to visit) South Africa before your trip in 2002?
2. He had never seen (never/to see) a lion before he travelled to South Africa.
3. I had failed (to fail) many times before I obtained my driving licence.
4. He had been (to be) in Italy once before.
5. They had had (to have) that land for many years before they sold it.
6. Had you studied (you/ to study) English before you moved to England?
7. I had received (to receive) another warning before this one.
8. I had tried(to try) many cars before I chose the blue one.
9. He had never swum (never to swim) in such a beautiful sea before he went to Spain.
10. He had travelled(to travel) to Australia many times before he based his company there.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/cgi2/myexam/voir2r.php?id=56199

Complete the sentences using the past perfect tense. Place any adverbs between the auxiliary and the main verb.

1. Before she arrived at the airport, the plane (already take off).
2. He left for London yesterday after he (have got) his passport.
3. Last week, after I (sell) my old car, I bought a new one.
4. She went to bed after she (put out) the light.
5. Last night the thieves (run) away before the police arrived.
6. The farmer returned to his village after he (sell) his fruit yesterday.
7. I arrived at the cinema after the film (start).
8. (Already /they/ finish) their dinner when you arrived to join them?
9. It (already / stop) raining by the time I bought my umbrella.
10. The whole house (already / burn) down by the time the firemen arrived.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/exercises/exercise-english-2/exercise-english-94236.php

1. Before she arrived at the airport, the plane had already taken off (already take off).
2. He left for London yesterday after he had got(have got) his passport.
3. Last week, after I had sold (sell) my old car, I bought a new one.
4. She went to bed after she had put out(put out) the light.
5. Last night the thieves had run(run) away before the police arrived.
6. The farmer returned to his village after he had sold(sell) his fruit yesterday.
7. I arrived at the cinema after the film had started(start).
8. Had they already finished(Already /they/ finish) their dinner when you arrived to join them?
9. It had already stopped(already / stop) raining by the time I bought my umbrella.
10. The whole house had already burnt -or- had already burned(already / burn) down by the time the firemen arrived.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/exercises/exercise-english-2/exercise-english-94236.php

Complete the sentences with the past perfect.No contractions.

1. I didn’t watch the film because I (see) it before.
2. We couldn’t eat at the restaurant because we (not book) a table.
3. I couldn’t buy it because I (spend) all my money.
4. I was tired because I (get up) very early that morning.
5. He didn’t know the answer because he (not do) his homework.
6. She was very happy because she (win) a prize.
7. I (forget) my pen so I had to borrow one.
8. When I got home, I switched on the answerphone. Several people (leave) messages for me.
9. I (not hear) the joke before; I laughed a lot.
10. When we came out of the restaurant, we saw that our car (disappear).
11. She couldn’t see the photographs very well because she (not bring) her glasses.
12. The ground was very dry; it (not rain) for a long time.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/exercises/exercise-english-2/exercise-english-14805.php

1. I didn’t watch the film because I had seen (see) it before.
2. We couldn’t eat at the restaurant because we had not booked (not book) a table.
3. I couldn’t buy it because I had spent (spend) all my money.
4. I was tired because I had got up (get up) very early that morning.
5. He didn’t know the answer because he had not done (not do) his homework.
6. She was very happy because she had won (win) a prize.
7. I had forgotten (forget) my pen so I had to borrow one.
8. When I got home, I switched on the answerphone. Several people had left (leave) messages for me.
9. I had not heard (not hear) the joke before; I laughed a lot.
10. When we came out of the restaurant, we saw that our car had disappeared (disappear).
11. She couldn’t see the photographs very well because she had not brought (not bring) her glasses.
12. The ground was very dry; it had not rained (not rain) for a long time.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/cgi2/myexam/voir2r.php?id=14805

Leave a Reply

