Modals exercises

Complete the sentences with should/shouldn’t or must/mustn’t.

1. She …… go to the Reunion. There are a lot of mosquitoes there.
2. They …… work hard if they want to have good marks.
3. My parents …… treat him like this. It’s not nice.
4. My brother …… go to the USA next year for his studies
5. Julie and Peter …… go to school tomorrow. They are expelled.
6. Louis …… eat so much. It’s not good for his health.
7. At school, pupils …… chew gum. It is forbidden.
8. You …… get up now! You’re late!
9. People …… respect each other.
10. Paul …… go to the dentist’s. He’s got a toothache.

Source: To Learn English

Fill in the spaces with the right modal verbs.

1. He …… be friendly, but he is usually unfriendly.
2. I have no time. I …… leave now. My parents are waiting for me.
3. I wish I …… buy a new car but I do not have any money.
4. I …… study well for the exam.
5. It …… rain in the desert sometimes, but you can’t depend on it.
6. Yasmine …… not swim when she was one year old.
7. Marie …… come to the party, but nobody is sure.
8. Patrick …… lift that heavy table. He is too weak.
9. Stop smoking! You really …… not smoke.
10. The project …… finish in two years time.
11. We …… not climb those mountains when we were kids.
12. We …… watch TV so much.
13. …… I borrow your pen?
14. You failed in your final test. You …… have studied harder.
15. You …… behave well in front of guests. Stop being silly.
16. You …… leave the class before 1 o’clock.
17. You …… run faster if you weren’t so lazy.

Source: To Learn English

Choose the rigth modals

1. Look at those clouds. I think it …… rain.
2. This is impossible! It …… the answer.
3. Well done! You …… very pleased!
4. I’ve no idea where Cathy is. She …… anywhere.
5. I suppose it’s possible. I …… come to your party.
6. That …… Richard. He hasn’t got a bike.
7. Sally isn’t here yet. She …… on her way.
8. I’m not sure. I …… be able to get there in time.
9. There’s someone at the door. It …… the mailman.
10. Sorry, I …… out. I have to do my homework.

Source: To Learn English

Choose the right modals

1. I’m afraid I …… help you at the moment.
2. The negociations broke down because we …… agree on the price.
3. I …. speak with you as soon as possible.
4. It’s forbidden: I ….. do it.
5. I’m asking permission: …… I do it ?
6. …… you hold the line please?
7. What …… we do ?
8. We …… spend more on security I think.
9. How …… I help you?
10. …… you show me how to log on to the network?

Source: To Learn English

Leave a Reply

